South Africa’s Stander wins opening stage in Malaysian event

    Multiple South African and African mountain bike racing champion, Burry Stander (Specialized USN), won the opening stage of the inaugural Langkawi INternational Mountain Bike Challenge in Malaysia on Tuesday.

    Stander outsprinted four-time Cape Epic champion, Karl Platt of Germany to clock a winning time of two hours 24 minutes and 20 seconds for the 61km stage that started and finished at the Langkawi Sports Complex. Former European champion, Thomas Dietsch of France, was third.

    Switzerland’s Nathalie Schneitter (Colnago Farbe Sudtirol) won the women’s category in 2:56:40. South Africa’s Yolande Speedy (MTN Qhubeka) finihshed fifth just over eight minutes back.

    Stage 2 on Wednesday is an Olympic Corss-country (XCO) race to be help on laps around a 4.7km course. The unique five-stage tour, designed to test rider versatility, ends on Saturday.

    South Africa's Burry Stander celebrates after outsprinting Germany's Karl Platt to win Stage 1 of the Langkawi International Mountain Bike Challenge. Photo credit: Langkawi International Mountain Bike Challenge

    Langkawi International MTB Challenge

    Stage 1: 61km Marathon


    1. Burry Stander RSA (Specialized USN) – 2hr 24min 20sec
    2. Karl Platt GER (Team Bulls) – 2hr 24min 20sec
    3. Thomas Dietsch FRA (Team Bulls) @ 1:52
    4. Wolciech Halejak POL (Mroz Activejet) @ 4:13
    5. Johnny Catteneo ITA (Full Dynamix) @ 5:11
    6. Lachlan Norris AUS (Giant Global Factory TEam) @ 5:17
    7. Adrian Jackson AUS @ 5:28
    8. Bartosz Banach POL (Mroz Activejet) @ 6:24
    9. Daniel Gathof GER (Craft Rocky Mountain) @ 6:38
    10. Kohei Yamamoto JPN @ 6:50


    1. Nathalie Schneitter SUI (Colnago Farbe Sudtirol) – 2hr 56min 40sec
    2. Vivienne Meyer SUI (Colnago Farbe Sudtirol) @ 0:06
    3. Jodie Willet AUS @ 2:12
    4. Michela Benzoni ITA (Lissone) same time
    5. Yolande Speedy RSA (MTN Qhubeka) @ 8:04
    6. Masziyaton MOhd Radzi MLA (Kedah SBS Giant) @ 12:32
    7. Jenny Fay IRE @ 12:41
    8. Katherin O’Shea AUS @ 12:57
    9. Eszter Dosa HUN @ 14:28
    10. Naomi Hansen AUS @ 16:02

    For more information, visit